Rain’s Rejoicing

It hasn’t rained in what seems to be months in this dusty, dried up Texas town.

So, the loud claps of thunder and rain drops beating on the roof are quite the backdrop for a spectacular phenomenon this evening. When the lightning strikes, it turns the night into a day-lit sky, shining bright and terrifying light over the surrounding areas I can see through my window blinds. The thunder claps so hard that the vibrations strike the cores of our souls. Certainly, within my dwelling everything shakes, including those with heartbeats and also pets who hide beneath bed-sheets.

It is a night for celebrating— amongst the dreary drought—and my community upholds this as a defining act of God because it is after hours and hours of pleading prayers… prayers for droplets of moisture to dampen the never-ending plains east-north-west-south of our city; prayers that the rain comes, and prayers that it comes strong and willing to soak our grounds. It is not light-hearted, and it means serious business with its dark clouds that deepen the night sky into pits that do not hold the light of the moon.

And, I’ve gotta say that there is nothing more rejoicing right now than the rain drops falling outside, and nothing better than the rolling bouts of thunder that surround me; I am so thankful for the rain, even though the echoes reverberate throughout my body, and even though they threaten my car outside with their hardened, ice-cold balls of angst… I rejoice in this evening, and in this moment; this moment that allows me to breathe in deeply the moisture-laden air, and hold out my hands to collect the precious drip-drops of rain that empower me.

There is an amazing power in the rainfall that I will not attempt to master, but it must be mentioned, for it is the life-source of everything precious and worth mentioning. And, I must add that if it weren’t a battle of how many lightning bolts can strike in a minute, then I would take myself out onto my lawn to just revel in it; to throw up my hands, then bow to my knees  to thank our dear Lord for this great, great moment.

I can only pray that the weather patterns have shifted. I can only pray that our worries will be lifted. And, I can only pray that our prayers have been counted and that He has decided to “bring on the rain” that will supremely bless our “Yellow Rose of Texas.”

About shaelynncrawford

I am twenty-three years old, and currently pursuing my BA in English from WTAMU. I have been a natural writer since I first learned to put pen to paper, starting with Haikus and love songs. I write for myself. However, upon making the decision to step out and share my voice with the world, I now write for others, too. I am using this blog so that I may develop a more profound public voice, and also so I may interact with like-minds. I am currently developing a novel that I would like to publish in the near future, and so I am sure some of my ramblings will be linked with the subject matter in my novel. I truly hope that you enjoy my work and that I inspire you to let go and speak your mind. As I said, this is a new process, and so I ask you to have patience with my vulnerability. I'm sure this process will work well for me, and I cannot wait to share my voice with you. Thanks for visiting, and I hope that you stay awhile!
This entry was posted in My Mind's Stage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rain’s Rejoicing

Leave a Reply

