My “Poem” for the World

I look around me at all the pain and suffering, hatred and anger, and lack of true love in the world around us, and I am so overwhelmed with grief. Our world is so depressing and dreadful–the murderers of children, thieves and political “warriors” who tell us more and more lies, and the natural disasters that claim innocent and precious lives–these calamities are only a few contributing to our international dread. What has happened to the world I once knew? Is it just me, or is it you, too? Can someone tell me where my rose-colored glasses are? I guess I shouldn’t let this tear me apart, but it’s real hard not to when the tears, years, fears add up. I’m tired of collecting sadness in my heart, and call me a hypocrite, but I don’t know where to start; I’m so caught up in the drama of the day, and the hatred pointed my way, that I cannot help but stow away the tears for my rainy day fund. It may not make sense to you, or your cold heart, but hear me out now:
Matters of the heart are messy, and too many folks trample on the strings you lay out.

So, what must be done? Who do we call? Do we continue to overlook it all? Do you pray at night in the darkness for us all, or do you ask that you do not fall? It’s easy to see why you feel this way, after all this selfish hate, but I beg of you please to store in your heart, faith and love and hope for a new start. I pray for peace and love and art–don’t judge me, these are matters of my heart.

I may not be a cookie-cutter Christian, but I’m faithful enough to know the difference. So, run along now and pretend you’re okay; pretend you don’t care about the troubles we face. Go on happily, and try to tame the shrew, but know this now, my concerning voice will call out to you. Flee now, hurry, you must make haste, before you are caught tarrying in this place. Before you go though, I have to ask– is it love or hatred in your flask? Try to think clearly about this, and don’t go running away or amiss. Face the facts and prepare your mind, for there will be tougher times, and I will not be here to guide you through, so hold on tight and treasure your youth. Remember the lessons you were told, about the blind man, and honoring the old. Never forget the precious moments when you said that “things can’t get much better than this.” Try your hardest if you can, and go back to your childhood friend. See yourself through her eyes, and try to remember what made you so bright. Take this view now and shine it on the world; try to be a beacon of shining light and treasured gold. I know you have it in you to remember the days, the days before we went our separate ways. I’m hoping this helps you cope with today, and shows you the progress you have made.

Say your prayers now; close your eyes, and try to put the anger aside. Believe that change for the world starts with you. Run along now and always remember– the pleasure it was to see the world anew, the friends who helped you see it, too, and also the love you were given along the way, the free advice, and the holidays; the people who helped you gain knowledge and gave you their praise, and cherish those who we have no more. See yourself the way you did whenever you were a “movie star.” It helped me open my mind and find peace, if only for the moment, but that’s enough to put pain on lease. Think of life as a gift, and don’t take advantage of what you’ve been given. Live to the fullest each day, even when you can’t look yourself in the face. Believe in yourself and have faith; and you better keep on going ’til you finish the race.

About shaelynncrawford

I am twenty-three years old, and currently pursuing my BA in English from WTAMU. I have been a natural writer since I first learned to put pen to paper, starting with Haikus and love songs. I write for myself. However, upon making the decision to step out and share my voice with the world, I now write for others, too. I am using this blog so that I may develop a more profound public voice, and also so I may interact with like-minds. I am currently developing a novel that I would like to publish in the near future, and so I am sure some of my ramblings will be linked with the subject matter in my novel. I truly hope that you enjoy my work and that I inspire you to let go and speak your mind. As I said, this is a new process, and so I ask you to have patience with my vulnerability. I'm sure this process will work well for me, and I cannot wait to share my voice with you. Thanks for visiting, and I hope that you stay awhile!
This entry was posted in Delirium and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My “Poem” for the World

  1. shelly says:

    That was very good Shae.. from the heart for sure! Love you, Momma

Leave a Reply

