Wildfire

At night,
You can see the lights
Over the rolling hills,
Creeping,
Still sitting in the same place,
But making their red and blue rounds;
Striking the night with their fear,
Their brilliance;
Bouncing off the clouds,
But yielding to the moon.
Here on this hill
Where I sit,
Watching the lights flicker and flame,
I hear the sirens of more coming;
The uncertainty of the danger
Lurking in the near distance.
I know there is pain behind those lights,
And screams between the sirens,
Harbingers of death–
Urgency,
Emergency.

About shaelynncrawford

I am twenty-three years old, and currently pursuing my BA in English from WTAMU. I have been a natural writer since I first learned to put pen to paper, starting with Haikus and love songs. I write for myself. However, upon making the decision to step out and share my voice with the world, I now write for others, too. I am using this blog so that I may develop a more profound public voice, and also so I may interact with like-minds. I am currently developing a novel that I would like to publish in the near future, and so I am sure some of my ramblings will be linked with the subject matter in my novel. I truly hope that you enjoy my work and that I inspire you to let go and speak your mind. As I said, this is a new process, and so I ask you to have patience with my vulnerability. I'm sure this process will work well for me, and I cannot wait to share my voice with you. Thanks for visiting, and I hope that you stay awhile!
This entry was posted in My Mind's Stage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wildfire

  1. Shelly says:

    Good one!

  2. carolynds says:

    Shae, I have a book of poems that was written during the holocaust. I’ll bring it to our next family get together. The tone of this poem reminds me of some of the poetry from that book.

Leave a comment